Argentinians Can Now Pay In Bitcoins for Using the Public Transport

In what can be termed as a major push for Bitcoin use, the Argentinian government will allow its local citizens across 37 cities to pay in Bitcoins for using the public transportation. A local news publication Cripto247 reported that users of SUBE smart cards can now fund it using Bitcoins (BTC).

THE SUBE cards are valid to pay for public transportations services throughout Argentina and promoted by the Argentine Secretary of Transportation. The SUBE cards can be used for different transportation modes like buses, trains, subways and motorboats”.

This new facility is possible due to the integration between FinTech startup Bitex and online card funding platform Alto Viaje. Alto Viaje is a government authorized vendor which SUBE cardholders can use to recharge their accounts.

Bitex is Argentina’s upcoming FinTech startup that specializes “in providing the necessary infrastructure so that companies, through an API integration, to start offering services that use the bitcoin blockchain”. Alto Viaje will be using Bitex’s infrastructure for technology and liquidity to ensure a seamless functioning for the project of this magnitude.

Manuel Beaudroit, CMO of Bitex, said: "We believe that this type of project is of great importance since it brings technology as disruptive as bitcoin to the common people, demonstrating the true value and the applications it has in everyday life”. Furthermore, he also clarified that the minimum funding of SUBE cards in BTC is 50 pesos.

Luciano Verardo, Director of Alto Viaje, also commented on the launch of this new project showing optimism. Verado noted: "From Alto Viaje we want to offer safe and innovative services, the alliance with Bitex allows us to integrate the payment with bitcoins and new possibilities of financial inclusion for people and companies”.

This list of 37 localities that can avail this BTC payment facility includes: Metropolitan Area of ​​Buenos Aires, Bahía Blanca, Catamarca, Cipolletti, Comodoro Rivadavia, Corrientes, Formosa, General Pico, General Pueyrredón, Gualeguaychú, Jujuy, Necochea, Neuquén, Olavarría, Palpalá, Paraná, Party of the Coast, Pergamino, Pinamar, Rafaela, Rawson, Resistance, Rio Gallegos, Rio Grande, Roque Sáenz Peña, San Carlos de Bariloche, San Juan, San Luis, San Martin de los Andes, San Nicolás de los Arroyos, Santa Fe from Vera Cruz, Santa Rosa, Trelew, Ushuaia, Venado Tuerto, Viedma and Villa Allende.